top of page
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
When can a teenager get their drivers permit?
As soon as a person turns 15 years of age they can apply for their drivers permit provided they are enrolled in a certified driver's education course or are within 30 days of beginning a certified course.
How much classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction must be provided by a certified driving school?
The course of instruction required of each eligible student at the high school level shall consist of a minimum of 30 clock hours of classroom instruction and a minimum of six clock hours of behind-the-wheel instruction in a dual control car on public roadways taught by a certified driving instructor.
Statutory Citation: 105 ILCS 5/27-24.2
What is “observation time” and how much is required by students?
Observation time refers to that time during which a student is riding in the back seat of a dual-control vehicle observing instructions of the driver education instructor and procedures and techniques of the student driver who is participating in behind-the-wheel instruction. At least one but not more than three student observers must be in the car during behind-the-wheel instruction. At least one hour of observation time is required for each hour of behind-the-wheel instruction (a total of six hours).
Administrative Rule: 23 Ill. Admin. Code Part 252.20(c)(3)
Are teens required to drive a certain number of hours with an adult as part of the licensing process before they are allowed to receive their license?
Yes. A student younger than 18 years of age must complete 50 hours of practice driving, including 10 hours of nighttime driving. This practice time must be with a responsible adult over the age of 21 who has held their driver’s license for more than one year. The law requires a parent, legal guardian, or other responsible adult to provide written consent at the time of the application for a driver's license verifying that the applicant is sufficiently prepared and able to operate a motor vehicle safely.
Statutory Citation: 625 ILCS 5/6-107(b)(3)
What are the student eligibility requirements in order to take driver education?
Each student must be enrolled in high school and receive a passing grade in at least eight courses during the previous two semesters prior to enrolling in a driver education course. If a pupil is a freshman, school districts may count passing grades from the last semester of the student’s eighth grade school year.
Statutory Citation: 105 ILCS 5/27-24.2 Administrative Rule: 23 Ill. Admin. Code Part 252.25(a)(1)
Do I need to take the Adult Driver Education Course to obtain my driver’s license?
You MUST take a six (6) hour Adult Driver Education Course to obtain an Illinois driver’s license if all three of the following points are accurate:
You are 18, 19 or 20 years old;
You are applying for an Illinois driver’s license for the first time; and
You have never taken any type of driver education course in high school or through a commercial driving school.
Is there a phone number that I can use to contact the Secretary of State’s office for questions that are not included on this list?
Yes. For additional information, please call 847-981-7455.
bottom of page