Burgess Driving School is an approved Illinois Secretary of State Driver Remedial Course provider.
A condition for reinstatement of your driver’s license or permit following a suspension is your participation in an approved Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education Course. Drivers between the ages of 15 and 24 who have received 2 violations within 24 months, or who received a violation under the Zero Tolerance Law and received a suspension of their driver’s license, are required by the State of Illinois to complete the Driver Remedial Education course.
See below for more information:
Illinois Remedial Driver's Education FAQ's
Is this program mandatory?
Yes. Drivers between the ages of 15 and 24 who have received two violations within 24 months or who received a citation under the Zero Tolerance Law are required by the State of Illinois to complete the Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education Course. The Burgess Driving School Remedial Course is approved by the State of Illinois to fulfill this requirement.
How long does the course take and what is it like?
In cooperation with the Illinois Secretary of State Driver Services Department, Burgess Driving School will present its course in one four-hour session. The Burgess Driving School Remedial Course is a highly interactive four-hour program that zeroes in on drivers ages 15 to 24 focusing on the most common and dangerous mistakes made by that demographic. The Burgess Driving School Remedial Course uses workbook exercises, group discussions, role-playing and short lectures to help keep young driver's attention, ultimately creating safer drivers on the road.
How will I know if I am required to complete this course?
If you are being required by the State to complete the course, a notification letter will be mailed to you from the Illinois Secretary of State Driver Services Department.
Will there be a test at the end of the course?
Yes. To comply with the Illinois Secretary of State Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education Course requirement, Burgess Driving School has included a 20-question test in its four-hour curriculum. Drivers must score 75% or better to successfully complete the course. After successfully completing the course, your class information will be electronically sent to the Illinois Secretary of State the following business day.